Private CT

Calcium score scan: private cost, referral, how soon (2026)

What a private CT calcium score costs in England and who can refer you.

  • England
  • Independent
  • Not a clinic
  • Not the NHS

Last reviewed 5 October 2026 by Pete, editor (not a clinician). Prices checked 5 October 2026.

A private CT calcium score cost from £420 (Queen Square Imaging Centre, London WC1) to £495 (Pall Mall Medical) on centres' own pages, checked 5 October 2026. Every centre needs a referral; some use their own team. Vista Health includes the report. NHS England DM01, July 2026: 9.9% of CT waiters had waited six weeks or more.

Chest pain, sudden shortness of breath, signs of a stroke, a head injury, or coughing up blood are not for this website or its form. Call 999.

Go to the request form

Private CT calcium score prices, centres' own pages, checked 5 October 2026
Centre typeFrom-priceContrast extraReport includedReferral ruleSource URLDate checked
Independent imaging centre (Queen Square Imaging Centre, London WC1)Calcium score from £420; fixed quoteNot statedReport to your doctor within 24 hours; the page does not say whether it is in the from-priceIts CT page says a referral from a GP or consultant is needed by lawqueensquare.com5 October 2026
Dedicated imaging centre group (Vista Health)Calcium score £445; CT coronary angiogram £1,095; both £1,540Not stated for calcium scoring aloneYes. Cardiologist report and digital images listed as free, within 3 working daysReferral needed from a GP, consultant, doctor or other registered healthcare professional. Its own private GP can refer, for a feevista-health.co.uk5 October 2026
Private hospital (Pall Mall Medical, Newton-le-Willows)Calcium score from £495None. The page says a standard calcium score needs no injection or dyeConsultant radiologist report. A cardiologist consultation is £250 extraNo GP referral needed. The page says its team checks the scan is appropriatepallmallmedical.co.uk5 October 2026
  • Vista lists cardiac CT in Central London (Fitzrovia), Milton Keynes and Salford.

Each row is the centre's own published figure, read by Pete on 5 October 2026. We list rows in price order, not as a ranking. We do not average prices. A centre can change a price at any time; its own quote is what counts. We delete a row we cannot re-check. A listed centre is not a partner of ours. Full list on Sources.

What should you know before you ask for a CT?

This is not medical advice. We cannot tell you whether you need a CT scan. CT uses ionising radiation, so the law says every scan must be justified: a practitioner at the centre must decide the benefit outweighs the risk, using the details your referrer supplies (IR(ME)R 2017). No centre can promise a scan without that check, and a centre can say no. Some centres ask their own clinician to confirm the scan is appropriate. Many still want a letter from your GP or a specialist.

Insured scans need a referral and pre-authorisation from your insurer before you book. Contrast dye is often extra and is not for everyone. A centre may ask for a kidney-function blood test first, and you should tell it about allergies, kidney problems or diabetes medicine.

Chest pain, sudden shortness of breath, signs of a stroke, a head injury, or coughing up blood are not for this website or its form. Call 999.

How do you get a private CT scan in four steps?

  1. Body area. Name the one area to be scanned. Here: heart (calcium score). Each extra area usually costs more.
  2. Referral rule. Check who will refer you: your GP or specialist, or the centre's own clinician. Read referral.
  3. What the price includes. Ask whether the report, contrast and any consultation are in the price. See cost.
  4. Ask one centre to contact you. Use the form. Nothing is booked until you agree a time and price with the centre.

How much is a private calcium score scan?

On 5 October 2026, published prices were £420 at Queen Square Imaging Centre in London, £445 at Vista Health and £495 at Pall Mall Medical in Newton-le-Willows. We list each price separately and do not average them.

Some centres sell the scan with other things. Pall Mall lists a cardiologist consultation at £250 extra. Vista Health lists a CT coronary angiogram at £1,095, or £1,540 with calcium scoring.

What does a calcium score scan show?

It is a CT scan of the heart that measures calcium in the arteries that supply the heart. The report gives a score. It does not tell you what to do next. A GP or cardiologist explains what the score means for you, alongside things like your blood pressure and cholesterol.

Does a calcium score scan need contrast?

Pall Mall Medical says a standard calcium score needs no injection or dye. A CT coronary angiogram is a different test and uses contrast. Contrast is not for everyone, and a centre may ask for a kidney-function blood test first.

Do I need a referral for a calcium score?

Yes, it is still a CT. Vista Health wants a referral from a GP, consultant, doctor or other registered healthcare professional, and offers its own private GP for a fee. Pall Mall Medical says no GP referral is needed because its own team checks the scan is appropriate. If you have no symptoms, the law asks the practitioner to give particular weight to published guidelines before justifying the scan, so a centre may refuse. Read referral.

Is a calcium score a health check?

It is not a general health check, and this site does not offer it as one. It is a single heart scan that uses radiation, and a practitioner has to decide it is justified for you. If you are worried about your heart, speak to your GP.

How much does a private calcium score scan cost?

From £420 (Queen Square Imaging Centre, London WC1) to £495 (Pall Mall Medical) on the centres' own pages, checked 5 October 2026. A cardiologist consultation can be extra.

Can I book a calcium score without a GP?

At some centres their own clinician assesses you and writes the referral. Others want a GP or other professional's referral. Every CT must be justified, so a centre can refuse.

Is the calcium score report included?

Vista Health says the report is included. Check with other centres before you pay.